Petition for a new “holiday”

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

As I sit here in my house enjoying bottle of Talisker 10-year-old Scotch Whiskey I reflect on when my love affair of Scotch Whiskey began.  It was just 10 short weeks ago I was ignorant of single malt Scotch. Yes I have tried several brands of blended Scotch but I just could not fall in love with it like I was in love with Jim Beam Black (my favorite Bourbon). After my friend Charles Brown (my photographer mentor) had prompted me to revisit Scotch but this time try a nice single malt. Here again I was ignorant but enthusiastic to see what all the fuss was about so off to the ABC store I went. I arrived home with a bottle of Dalwhinnie 15 year, poured three fingers worth in a clean water-glass and waited about 5 minutes. After that first taste I was madly in love, like soul mate in love.  Next Friday came Oban 14 year (man, that is good) and the next Friday came The Macallan 15 year triple cask and so a tradition began. I call this tradition Scotch Friday, every Friday I enjoy a glass (or a few glasses) of Single Malt Scotch Whiskey. The next Fridays brought The Glenlivet 12 year,The Balvenie 15 year, Lagavulin 16 year, Gleynmorangie The Lasanta, Speyburn 10 year, and Talisker 10 year. Don’t get me wrong I still love Bourbon Whiskey (Jim Beam especially) but I have learned that spirits can be equally as good as different, all having specific characteristics that make them what they are. Being of Scottish decent I may be a little bias but that does not dilute the truth.

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations,

So let Scotch Friday begin.

Comments
  1. Tags This Scotch has been on the rocks for 100 years whiskey crate found in Antarctic ice opened.A crate of Scotch whiskey that was trapped in Antarctic ice for a century was finally opened Friday A a a but the heritage dram wont be tasted by whisky lovers because its being preserved for its historical significance..The crate recovered from the Antarctic hut of renowned explorer Sir Ernest Shackleton after it was found there in 2006 has been thawed very slowly in recent weeks at the Canterbury Museum in Christchurch on New Zealands South Island..The crate was painstakingly opened to reveal 11 bottles of Mackinlays Scotch whiskey wrapped in paper and straw to protect them from the rigors of a rough trip to Antarctica for Shackletons 1907 Nimrod expedition..Though the crate was frozen solid when it was retrieved earlier this year the whiskey inside could be heard sloshing around in the bottles. The original recipe for the Scotch no longer exists..Once samples have been extracted and sent to Scottish distiller Whyte and Mackay which took over Mackinlays distillery many years ago the 11 bottles will be returned to their home A a a under the floorboards of Shackletons hut at Cape Royds on Ross Island near Antarcticas McMurdo Sound.

Leave a Reply

