The Hotwires plug in at The Pour House

Posted: May 17, 2010 in local music
Tags: , , , ,

 My friends The Hotwires played The Pour House on Thursday May 13th. The show stared off as any other Hotwires’ Bluegrass show with quality Bluegrass but I noticed a few other instruments on stage (including a drum kit) that made me think something else was in store. They played their first set as any other with Jamie Dawson on the mandolin/vocals, Hank Bowman on acoustic guitar/vocals, Hank Smith on banjo/vocals, Jason Hedrick on the bass/vocals, and Matt Hooper on fiddle.  Then Buck Bowman (Hank B’s son) came on stage and picked up an electric guitar and Mike Rosado took a seat behind the drum kit. Jamie switched off to an electric mandolin, Hank S. to an electric banjo (not a type o), Jason to an electric bass, and Matt to a fiddle with an electric pick up and all Hell broke loose. The second set of Bluegrass music was electrified (and very loud). Man it has been a long time since I had that much fun at a show. I have seen The Hotwires play many times and enjoyed each show but mixing it up like this really added a bit of Rock and Roll to a Bluegrass show. I reckon we will have to go with Electragrass if this music must be defined. The crowd got into it as the hooting and hollering picked up right much as well as spontaneous dancing. This was my first time hearing an electric banjo and trying to describe how that sounds is an exercise in futility but imagine making a blender out of a 55 gallon drum with an outboard engine prop in the bottom. Using a 210 cubic inch Evinrude Outboard Engine as the power plant, pouring in a few old banjos and cooking utensils then firing up the device and listening intently. I left the show tired but energized and looking forward to seeing some more Electragrass from The Hotwires soon.

     

                             

 

I had a request for this image.

Comments
  1. rhtwist says:

    Don’t know the bands but the photography is quite professional looking. Very nice work Hunter.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Hunter Lee Elliott. Hunter Lee Elliott said: The Hotwires plug in at The Pour House: http://wp.me/pN0QT-dr […]

  3. Jenn says:

    Dang Lee!! That’s sounded like a not to be missed show!!! Too bad I did!! Awesome review!!

  4. Hilaria says:

    I was at this show! The Hotwires are in my top 3 favorite local bands (if not my absolute favorite). This show was the best thing I have seen on the Pour House stage in quite some time (and that’s saying a lot because I am at shows at PH typically 3-4 times a week). It was above and beyond anything I have ever seen these guys do before, and totally amazing to watch. What an absolute treat this was for the band and the audience!! LOVE THESE GUYS!!

  5. tvass says:

    What…no pictures of the beautiful blond girl dancing to the Hot Wire theme song? C’mon Pheonix…do a little audience participation thing

  6. Hunter says:

    Thanks for the kind words you all.
    Images updated to add “the pretty blonde girl” for Mr. Vass

  7. Hilaria says:

    Hey! I am the “beautiful blond girl that was dancing to the Hotwires theme song!!! Thanks for the compliment! 🙂 I’m single ya know. haha

Leave a Reply

