The Hotwires at the Pour House

Posted: February 7, 2010 in local music
Tags: , , ,

The Pour House put on a Haiti Benefit Thursday February 4th in order to raise money for the unfortunate souls involved in the Haiti disaster.  That in itself was a noble cause and the plus was there was some fantastic music being donated by local musicians.

I got there in time to catch the Hotwires do their part and I am here to tell you they were on it like dogonit (not sure if dogonit is accepted by Webster as a word but I am going to stick with it). The Hotwires kicked off their set with Wild Geese (written by Peter Rowan) and that set the tone for the rest of their show. Wild Geese was followed by their defining song Hotwired where Hank Bowman poured it on thick.  Their instrumental was De La Luz and then it was Jamie Dawson’s turn at the mic singing You better be Gone (a Hank Bowman original). One of my favorite songs The Hotwires preform is How Can it Be and again Hank Bowman put his heart into it. With Hank Smith on the banjo and Jason Hedrick on the doghouse bass the whole show was brought together tight as Dick’s hatband.

After the show I had the chance to visit with Hank Smith and Jason Hedrick both of which I consider friends.  Jason and I were having an animated conversation about everything and nothing when he came clean and told me he though a lot of me but I was a little weird, the irony of this is a bass player with green highlights in his hair calling me weird. I took  that as a complement nevertheless, Jason is good people and Hank and I had a good laugh over it.

All in all it was a great show for a worthy cause.

Leave a Reply

